Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​6.0 Approximate timeframes involved



Please note that no assurance of the timeframes indicated can be provided.​

 

Activity​

*Time frames Comments
1To go through CYF courses, prepare a detailed Personal Profile and have a Home Study Report prepared depends on the social worker's workload, course availability dates, timely information provided to CYFS, etc.
Allow 5-8 months
Refer to Note 1
2

Complete Compassion for Orphans Education and Preparation and other processes.

1-2 months 
3From the time of sending the application to Chile, receiving and accepting a matching proposal.

Current wait times from the date of registration on Sename's database are:

3.1: For sibling groups and children aged 7-9 years of age: 7-12 months​

3.2: Children 5 to 6 years of age  – 1 year plus

Refer to Note 2
4

Acceptance of matching proposal to travel to Chile

1-2 months 
5

Travel to Chile, meet the child, attend tribunal hearings, complete the adoption

Allow 3 weeksRefer to Note 3
6

Obtain child's passport and visa to enter New Zealand

Allow 4-6 weeksRefer to Note 4​​


Note 1​: 

For applicants from Wellington an indication of the types of timeframes follows:​

 

Wellington Adoption Service

Venue: 

Training Room, Level 2, West Entrance, City Fitness Bldg, 1 Walton Leigh Ave, Porirua  


Ways to Care Information Sessions 2013 (session time 5-7pm)

-       Introduction for prospective caregivers

Wednesday 23 January
Wednesday 6 March
Wednesday 17 April
Wednesday 29 May
Wednesday 10 July
Wednesday 21 August
Wednesday 25 September
Wednesday 23 October
Wednesday 4 December​


Ways to Care Training Programme 2013 (session time 9:00 – 4:30)

-       Workshops for applicants
 

   Series

Day

Date

 

 

 

Series 1

Day 1

Friday 8 February

 

Day 2

Friday 22 February

 

Safe Caring

Friday 8 March

 

 

 

Series 2

Day 1

Friday 5 April

 

Day 2

Friday 19 April

 

Safe Caring

Friday 10 May

 

 

 

Series 3

Day 1

Friday 14 June

 

Day 2

Friday 28 June

 

Safe Caring

Friday 12 July

 

 

 

Series 4

Day 1

Friday 16 August

 

Day 2

Friday 30 August

 

Safe Caring

Friday 13 September

 

 

 

Series 5

Day 1

Friday 18 October

 

Day 2

Friday 1 November

 

Safe Caring

Friday 15 November

 

 

 


In the period during the Education Days the applicants should be completing their self assessment forms to avoid delays in the preparation of the Home Study Report.

Please refer to the Overview of the Process – Step 1 for further information.


Note 2​:

While SENAME does try to take the length of time a couple has been waiting into consideration, their priority is to find the most appropriate couple on the register to meet the needs of a particular child. 

Therefore, a couple who are deemed to potentially be an ideal match for a particular child may have a significantly shorter waiting time. 

Most applications are for children aged 5-6 years of age therefore an application for a child in this age range will be up against a larger pool of applicants which may mean a longer waiting time.

If the application is for children aged 7 years and older or for special needs children, e.g. children with a physical disability, SENAME have indicated that the waiting time is likely to be significantly shorter than the average.

Your preference of gender may also affect the amount of time you must wait for a referral. Applicants who have no gender preference are likely to have a shorter waiting time than applicants who have specified a preferred gender. 

As of mid 2008 there were 133 applications to adopt on SENAME’s register. 

SENAME processes approximately 90 -100 intercountry adoptions per annum. This is approximately 20% of the domestic adoptions in Chile.  


Note 3​:

Allow 3 weeks, however this may differ depending on the circumstances (such as the region the child is from and everything going smoothly). Applicants must expect not to work to a fixed time frame and therefore time away from work needs to be organised accordingly.  Travel tickets need to be flexible with no charge for alterations.  The applicants’ budget also needs to be flexible to cover any contingencies.

The longer applicants are in Chile the more time they will have for attachment with their child away from work commitments, school etc.  It is an opportunity to find out more about the child's birthplace and culture and to develop (and hopefully maintain) a stronger relationship with the child’s principal caregiver(s) which will be valuable later when the child begins to enquire of his or her origins.

Note 4​:

This time may be less depending on how long it takes for the relevant Government departments to process the change in identification and issue a passport.